Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 1045)

## COMPLETION OF THE VERY SUBSTANTIAL ACQUISITION RELATING TO THE TERMINATION OF THE 1999 LEASE AGREEMENT AND ANCILLARY AGREEMENT

The Board is pleased to announce that the Transactions were duly closed on 9 July 2009.

Reference is made to the announcement of APT Satellite Holdings Limited (the "Company") dated 1 June 2009 and the circular of the Company dated 22 June 2009 (the "Circular") in respect of the very substantial acquisition relating to the termination of the 1999 Lease Agreement and the ancillary agreement. Terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

The Board is pleased to announce that the transactions contemplated under the Lease Termination Agreement entered into on 1 June 2009 between APT Satellite Company Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, Telesat Canada and Telesat Asia Pacific Satellite (HK) Limited in respect of APSTAR-IIR/Telstar 10 (the "Transactions") were duly closed on 9 July 2009. Thereupon, the 1999 Lease Agreement and the ancillary agreement are cancelled and terminated in all respects and the Group has assumed full rights and control of APSTAR-IIR.

By Order of the Board **Dr. Lo Kin Hang, Brian** Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 9 July 2009

The Directors as at the date of this announcement are as follows:

Executive Directors:

Cheng Guangren (President) and Qi Liang (Vice President)

Non-Executive Directors:

Rui Xiaowu (Chairman), Lim Toon, Yin Yen-liang, Wu Zhen Mu, Yong Foo Chong, Wu Jinfeng and Tseng Ta-mon (Alternate Director to Yin Yen-liang)

*Independent Non-Executive Directors:* 

Huan Guocang, Lui King Man, Lam Sek Kong and Cui Liguo