Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock code: 1045)

Resignation of Independent Non-Executive Director

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of APT Satellite Holdings Limited (the "Company") hereby announces that with effect from 1 January 2010 Dr. Huan Guocang resigned as the Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company, the Chairman of the Nomination Committee and the Member of each of the Audit Committee and Remuneration Committee of the Company for the reason of other work commitment.

The Board would like to thank Dr. Huan and expresses its appreciation for his valuable contribution and service to the Company during his terms of office.

Dr. Huan confirmed that there is no disagreement with the Board and there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board also announces that with effect from 1 January 2010 Dr. Lam Sek Kong, the Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company, was re-designated from acting as the Member of the Nomination Committee to act as the Chairman of the Nomination Committee.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of holders of securities of the Company, nor there is any information as required to be disclosed pursuant to paragraphs 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the rules governing the listing of securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board
Dr. Brian Lo
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 31 December 2009

The Directors as at the date of this announcement are as follows:

Executive Directors:

Cheng Guangren (President) and Qi Liang (Vice President)

Non-Executive Directors:

Rui Xiaowu (Chairman), Lim Toon, Yin Yen-liang, Wu Zhen Mu, Yong Foo Chong, Wu Jinfeng and Tseng Ta-mon (Alternate Director to Yin Yen-liang)

Independent Non-Executive Directors: Lui King Man, Lam Sek Kong and Cui Liguo